Foolish mistakes..!!

7 thoughts on “Foolish mistakes..!!”

  1. Hi,

    Your project is great and I’m doing something similar to yours.
    For my RC controller (transmitter) I am using : Arduino Uno + joysticks + nRF24L01 module
    For my quad (receiver) I am using : Arduino Nano + nRF24L01 module + GY-521 MPU6050 sensor module + Lipo battery + 30A ESCs + A2212 out runner brushless motors + 1045 props

    May I know what are the components that you used to build your quadcopter?
    Also, can I have the schematics of your transmitter & receiver as a reference?

    Your help is much appreciated!
    Thanks!

    Like

    1. you can probably find the code for flight controller and TX and RX over my github.
      I think you should probably use separate Arduino for Flight controller and RX node..arduino probably won’t be handle IMU and nRF’s interrupts altogether.. if it does it’ll probably screw up the motor pwm timing..like it does when you Serial.print ing too much stuff.
      And for the schematic for TX RX you would have to figure it out from the code..all the pins are already mentioned there..its pretty simple..it communicates via I2C not pwm so its more precise..
      Good luck

      Like

      1. I managed to figure out the connections for TX and RX. One problem is that the PORTL is not declared in your code and I’m still figuring out that part..
        Btw, How did you connect the ESCs to your main arduino? Do you connect only the signal Pin of the ESC(leaving out the Vcc & GND pins) to PWM of the arduino? I see there is tim, tom, ted, tod; where each is connected to 4, 5, 6, 7 of the main arduino. But, isn’t ESCs supposed to be connected to PWM pins only(pin4 & pin7 are not PWM)?

        I’m a bit confused here. Hope you can give some explanations on the codes.
        Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ahh yeah…arduino on the TX node which I used was Arduino mega, it had PORTL but Arduino UNO doesn’t.
    So to solve this you’d need to replace PORTL with PORTB

    and also replace

    #define MOSI_PIN 51
    #define MISO_PIN 50
    #define SCK_PIN 52
    #define SS_ARD_PIN 53
    #define SS_PIN 48 //PL1
    #define CE_PIN 49 //CE HIGH for RX //PL0
    #define IRQ 2

    to

    #define MOSI_PIN 11
    #define MISO_PIN 12
    #define SCK_PIN 13
    #define SS_ARD_PIN 10
    #define SS_PIN 9 //PB1
    #define CE_PIN 8 //CE HIGH for RX //PB0
    #define IRQ 2

    code which I put up on Github was kind of hardware specific so it’d be hard for you to debug it if you make h/w changes..unless your are prepared to dig into datasheets.

    and I used servo library for generating pwm signals, it does not require pwm pins, it can generate “servo pwm signals” on any digital pin..
    and kind of approach you are taking it’d hard to make this project work..you got tolearn the basics first bldc’s esc’s IMU’s and and how microcontroller talks with all of them..it’d fairly easy then and then you’d get a sense of what you’re doing..and ESC’s to arduino- I used buttloads of jumpers one has to connect singal wire and the ground to arduino..

    Like

  3. Nice work! Am working on a similar project! But I want my custom tx to interface with an Eachine FLF3_EVO Brushed Flight Control Board Built-in FrSky Compatible PPM 6CH Receiver For QX95 QX90 QX90C… Any insights into comms with this type of unit? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Protocols for sending to the RX, etc…

    Like

    1. you have 6ch frysky a receiver and need to interface it with a tx..I believe that won’t be possible unless you buy a frysky 6ch tx from somewhere, one can’t just get same over the air patterned flow of bits from different radios

      Like

      1. Bummer… Was hoping it may be more standardized then that. I mean bits are bits, freq are freq and protocols are protocols, thought I might be able to create an arduino based tx that could send the correct bits in the correct order over the correct freq to the RX. But if you feel my only option is a FrSky tx then I’ll keep digging. If you look at the latest multi tx units you will see they are just as I described. http://www.banggood.com/Multiprotocol-TX-Module-For-Frsky-X9D-X9D-Plus-X12S-Flysky-TH9X-Transmitter-p-1097688.html
        There has to be a way to do this… Because it’s already being done. I’ll keep at my research and let you know what I find.

        Like

Leave a Reply

